Captain Ron (1992)

Martin (Martin Short) needs a bit of a pick-me-up, he’s sort of feeling stuck in his job and at home.  Luckily his uncle just died.  While that would be sad news for most people, Martin hadn’t seen him in 25-years AND his uncle left him his 60 foot sail boat that used to belong to Clark Gable.  It’s worth a crap load of cash, but they need to get it from a small island in the Caribbean to Miami.  This kills two birds with one stone: it allows them to have a fun exciting vacation and pay off all of their debt.  The only problem is that they don’t know how to sail.  Enter Captain Ron.  This macho version of Jack Sparrow is a great skipper, but sort of rough around the edges with his care-free life style.

On their way to Miami, many mis-adventures ensue; with run-ins with pirates, armed guerrillas, dry rot, sailing lessons and that Ron is always trying to bone Martin’s wife and/or daughter.  Ron saves the day on more than one occasion, despite appearing borderline retarded most of the time and always pissing off his boss.  This scurvy dog brings this once distant family back together and we all share in some laughs.

Alex’s Thoughts:  I have always loved this movie, which is strange, because I so very much dislike Martin Short (with the exception of his guest-staring role as ‘Uncle Jack on Arrested Development’).  I guess my love for Kurt Russell more than makes up for it.  I still find myself smiling at the same parts I did when I was a kid, and to me, this holds up really well.  It’s just a goofy comedy and I think most people would get a kick out of it.  Alex Rates This Movie 8/10 

Tim’s Thoughts: I am going to say that this is not for everyone, but if you like either Russell or Short, then you will be just fine. I happen to like both, so Captain Ron is a lot of fun for me. There is nothing deep here, it’s just a goofy over the top comedy, and you can watch Russell have as much fun here as he did in Big Trouble Little China.  A word of advice, any time Kurt Russell is in a comedy, you need to check it out, at least once. Tim Rates This Movie 8/10

View the IMDB entry for this movie here, or add it to your Netflix queue

