House (1986)

When Rodger’s aunt dies mysteriously, he decides to move into her house to write his new book.  Despite that fact that his aunt hanged herself there AND claimed that the house was haunted AND his son disappeared there a few years ago and hasn’t been seen since, Rodger still thinks this is a good idea.  He begins writing his novel, which is about his time in Nam, and soon starts having serious flashbacks. It isn’t long after that until he starts to believe his aunt’s warnings about the house, especially when yard tools and a mounted sailfish try to kill him.  Before long, there are monsters running a muck and causing trouble.  He befriends his neighbor Harold (George Went), and try to convince him of his house troubles.  Norm Peterson starts to see the light when a ghoul pops out of  the closet and tried to eat the two guys.

Soon Rodger’s flashback start to get a little too real, as the Army buddy he saw killed comes back as a zombie and tries to kill him.  It also turns out that the Army buddy is the one who stole his kid a few years back as revenge for Rodger letting him get captured and tortured to death.  Rodger is now in a fight for his life, and his son’s, against a gun-toting zombie soldier and a murderous house.

Alex’s Thoughts: While not at all scary, this is a pretty good 80’s horror flick. I loved it as a kid, and I still really appreciate it for what it is. The acting from the guy who plays Rodger is mediocre and the effects are even worse, but it all somehow works. I think George Went brings everything together as the helpful neighbor. Most people watching this for the first time will think it’s cheesy (and it is), but it’s also really fun and worth a watch or re-watch. Alex Rates This Movie 7/10

Tim’s Thoughts: I have always, and probably always will, love House. I loved it as a kid, and as I watched it as an adult, I realized how funny it really is. Yes it’s filled with slapstick and most of the effects are too goofy to be scary, but it has all the spirit of a Sam Raimi flick, and more than enough charm to make this a good watch every time. Every time I hear the song “You’re No Good”  I think of what is probably my favorite part of the entire movie, but I won’t spoil it for you. Check this out for some good fun. Tim Rates This Movie 8/10

“It won Roger. It tricked me. I didn’t think it could, but it did. It’s going to trick you too, Roger. This house knows everything about you. Leave while you can!”

View the IMDB entry for this movie here, or add it to your Netflix queue.

