Arthur (1981)

Being born into money has its privileges. Take our man Arthur Bach (Dudley Moore), who has never worked, is a total drunk, spends his night banging whores and all he has to do to keep this life up is to marry someone of his family’s choosing.  The only problem is that Arthur wants to marry someone who he is love with; despite that fact that he doesn’t date and his only friend is his butler/nanny.  After giving into his daddy and not wanting to lose his $750 million inheritance, he agrees to marry the daughter of one of the other tycoons of New York City.  Everything is set.  They will be married in a month, but there is now a problem: Arthur meets a nice little waitress whom he has fallen for named Linda (Liza Minnelli), and the pair seem like a great match, they are both sort of crazy.  He likes her, but he also like his cash too. It comes down to a simple choice, so what will he choose?

Alex’s Thoughts: While the movie is a bit dated, it’s still better than the Russell Brand remake from last year. It’s sort of a charming little movie, and would make for a good date night.  Liza Minnelli plays the mildly crazy doe-eyed girl really well, and I liked it.; and I don’t like her in anything except for Arrested Development (Lucile 2!). Dudley Moore was fine, but his slurred speech and drunken laughing are sometimes too much for me to tolerate in longer scenes.  The best lines come from Arthur’s servant, Mr. Hobson, and they are all pretty dry, but mostly hysterical.  You know the ending 15 minutes in, but it doesn’t make it any less rewarding.  Alex Rates This Movie 7/10

Tim’s Thoughts: They can’t pull off movies like this anymore, it’s just not politically correct, and I think that’s sad. My Favorite year is another example of a movie with a lovable/sad drunkard, but has a lot of redeeming qualities, and Arthur is way less depressing than that. Yeah it’s dated, but it reminds me of why both Moore and Liza were stars, there is a definite charisma, and chemistry between the two leads. That being said the butler steals the show, and he’s not in it nearly enough. I liked this movie as a kid, and I still like it. There is a lot to enjoy here, and I think most of the jokes still work. Tim Rates This Movie 8/10

“I race cars, play tennis, and fondle women, BUT! I have weekends off, and I am my own boss.”

View the IMDB entry for this movie here, or add it to your Netflix queue.

