God Bless America (2011)

This gritty black comedy from writer/director Bobcat Goldthwait (yeah, Zed from Police Academy) starts off with Frank having a shitty day.  His young daughter is a brat, and doesn’t want to see him since he’s boring and she would rather stay with his ex-wife and play video games. He also  just lost his job over a sexual harassment suit filed by a woman whom he thought he could have a future with, and on top of that, his doctor just told him he has a terminal brain tumor.  After spending sometime watching tv and realizing that society is going down the crapper anyway, he is just going to kill himself.  Right before he goes to pull the trigger, he notices some awful show.  It’s a reality show, where some spoiled little rich teenager is crying because her parents got her the wrong $60k car for her 16th birthday.  Frank pulls the gun out and decides that this particular bullet would be better spent on this selfish little bitch.

As he waits for her outside her school another young girl walks by and calls him a creepo. After class Frank attempts to set the brat’s car on fire with her in it, but when that fails, he just shoots her and calmly walks away. Frank feels he has done a service to the world and he can go die now, but is interrupted from killing himself again by the girl he met at the school – Roxy.  Strangely enough, this girl feels the same way about the country as Frank, and they decide to team up: they are going to kill the country’s assholes together as some sort of father/daughter execution squad. So if you talk in a movie, take up two parking spots or make fun of someone, you had better watch your back, because Frank and Roxy are on the hunt.

Alex’s Thoughts: Based on the topic, a man and a teenage girl killing random people, this isn’t a movie for everyone.  It is going to offend a lot of people. But… if you take it for what it is, a satire on today’s America, you might enjoy it. I thought it was a good movie, but I’m extremely liberal and not some uptight square; so your mileage may very.  Yes it is a disturbing subject matter, but I think it’s all in fun, and I really enjoyed the acting and the story.  If you take out the killing, you are still left with some very strong views on today’s average Joe, and the fact they most people are dumb shits (but not you fine readers, you are the cat’s pajamas).  People are so caught up by what celebrities and reality show stars are doing that they forget to live their own lives, and the main protagonists in this flick are here to remind us that a lot of people are doing that, and you need to shut off the TV for ten minutes a just step outside a take a look around. Also that little girl has an absolutely filthy mouth, and nothing makes me happier that kids cussing.  Alex Rates This Movie 8/10

Tim’s Thoughts: I go back and forth on this movie, there are times when I think I really like it, and then there are times were it irritates the crap out of me. Like a Micheal Moore movie, it has a very specific agenda, and it’s mostly to shock. That’s fine, but when it comes down to the nitty gritty it gets damn near preachy, (again Micheal Moore.) Not all of this is bad, and there are scenes I find hilarious because they are so wrong, but I think John Waters has ruined movies like this for me, just watch some of his earlier movies, and you will see what I mean. Easily some of the most uncomfortable stuff ever committed to film, and also obscenely funny, (see Pink Flamingos,) and the more I think about it the more I remember that Cecil B. Demented is similar to this, and funnier. Anyways, now I will get off MY soapbox, if you don’t want to, (or can’t stomach) sit through all the Water’s movies, then this will suffice, but for me, he did it first and better, Bobcat’s outing here is enough to get me to watch his other movies, and that’s saying something. Tim Rates This Movie 6/10

“Oh, I get it, and I am offended. Not because I’ve got a problem with bitter, predictable, whiny, millionaire disk jockeys complaining about celebrities or how tough their life is, while I live in an apartment with paper-thin walls next to a couple of Neanderthals who, instead of a baby, decided to give birth to some kind of nocturnal civil defense air-raid siren that goes off every fuckin’ night like it’s Pearl Harbor. I’m not offended that they act like it’s my responsibility to protect their rights to pick on the weak like pack animals, or that we’re supposed to support their freedom of speech when they don’t give a fuck about yours or mine.”

View the IMDB entry for this movie here, or add it to your Nexflix queue

