Everything Must Go (2010)

Nick is the company’s best salesperson, that’s why it comes as a shock when he is fired.  He had been doing better since his last stint in rehab, but fell off the wagon while on a recent business trip.  They kick his ass to the curb, and send him home.  Things aren’t any better when he gets home, as he discovers all of his stuff has been removed from his house and put on the front lawn.  Apparently his wife got the heads-up about his shit-canning and that was the last straw; she froze his assets, changed the locks and won’t return his calls.  He does what any man in this situation would do, and says ‘fuck it’, I’ll just live on my lawn.  He sets up a nice little living situation outside and begins drinking himself to death.  As he falls deeper and deeper into depression, he is soon able to move on and sell all of his stuff to reclaim his life, thanks to a chubby neighbor kid, and a new woman who has moved in across the street who has a husband that is a little too familiar to Nick.

Alex’s Thoughts: Going into this, I wasn’t sure what to think of Will Farrell in a dramatic role.  I didn’t doubt he could pull it off, I just wasn’t sure that I would like it.  I ended up really enjoying this one, although it is a bit depressing at times as you go on this emotional rollercoaster along with Nick.  There actually was a lot of dry and subtle humor which kept me interested throughout the movie; so they did let Will Farrell dabble in what he does best.  There is also a nice little bit part for ‘Dennis’ from It’s Always Sunny; didn’t think I’d ever see him in a drama!  I would recommend this movie to just about anyone, as I think most people would appreciate this for what it is.  Alex Rates This Movie 8/10

Tim’s Thoughts: I personally like comedic actors showing their talents in other genres, and this is no different. As depressing as this movie can be, his relationship with the young boy kept me going. There was a nice awkward chemistry between them that felt genuine. I don’t think this is for everyone, as most people will only see Farrell as the goofball man-child he plays in his other movies. Tim Rates This Movie 8/10

You don’t know who Reggie Jackson is?  Are you one of the retarded kids?”

 

View the IMDB entry for this movie here or add it to your Netflix queue

