Dylan Dog: Dead of Night (2010)

New Orleans is a crazy place, especially for private detective Dylan (Brandon Routh).  He has retired from his previous investigation job (more on that in a bit), and is now just catching cheating spouses with his assistant, Marcus.  They take on a case where a young woman’s father has been murdered, but the police believe it is a suicide; she claims that some ‘thing’ killed her pappy.  Dylan says that he doesn’t take these kind of cases anymore and leaves.  After thinking about it for a while, he takes the case once he realizes how hot the girl is and…  after Marcus has been murdered.  He checks out the crime scene and figures out that a werewolf was behind the attack.  You see, his previous job was keeping tabs on all of the monsters of New Orleans, and making sure the vampire,s werewolves and zombies behaved themselves.  Dylan and the woman discover that someone is after an item that her father possessed; a cross that can resurrect a demon.  He uses all his know-how and the newly resurrected zombie Marcus to figure out who has the most to gain from controlling a monster-hunting demon.

Alex’s Thoughts:  Having never read the comic this is based on, I wasn’t sure if I would know what was going on or if I could follow it. But it wasn’t a problem, as they did a good job incorporating his back story into the movie.  I really enjoyed Brandon Routh’s performance, and he seems to have really good comedic timing; too bad he isn’t in more movies.  There were times when the dialogue  struggled in parts, and it was obvious on-screen that it could have used another take, but for some reason they just left in the awkward line delivery.  I’m also not sure when this comic was written, but they use the word Trueblood a lot and reference vampires selling their own blood as a drug; and as a True Blood fan, it was somewhat off putting.  Overall though it was way better than I was expecting, especially seeing reviews online where this movie is just panned extremely hard.  I think one of the reasons I liked it so much, it that it had that great voiceover dialog out of old detective movies, and I love that.  So if you are interested in a movie that is a mix of Blade/ True Blood/ Underworld/ Dragnet this is right up your zombie filled alley.  Alex Rates This Movie 8/10

Tim’s Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised with Dylan Dog. Like Alex, I never read the comic, and while this has a few weak points, (awkward dialogue, a few under pursued ideas,) I found myself loving the goofy Noir feeling, and all of the side characters were really fun. A great unique take on the undead/monster genre, I recommend this to my friends that will enjoy an offbeat movie, with quirky characters. Not for everyone, I think people in the right frame of mind could really have a good time with this film. Also Brandon Routh is a very underrated actor. Tim Rates This Movie 8/10

“So you’re telling me that I’m a zombie?  What does that mean exactly?”

View the IMDB entry for this movie here or add it to your Netflix queue

