Heathers (1989)

Westerburg High School is ruled by a pack of four girls, all of whom are named Heather, except for one: Veronica Sawyer (Winona Rider).  Veronica had always wanted to be popular, but once she was added to the group she was reluctant to change into a total bitch like the rest of them.  She follows their orders and plays their games, but is looking for a way to distance herself from the group.  She starts up a relationship with a new kid in school named Jason Dean, who is played by Christian Slater channeling Jack Nicholson via some weird Freaky Friday mind swap thing.  Jason is going to be her way out.  Veronica attends a college party with the lead Heather, and ends up puking after avoiding being date raped.  Heather is pissed that her friend is so lame and is going to kick her out of the group come Monday.  Veronica tells Jason that she wants to make Heather puke to get her back, so she mixes up some stuff she thinks will do the job; but Jason substitutes drain cleaner instead.  Heather is accidentally killed, but they make it look like a suicide.  They decide that if they can keep doing this, it will make the school a better place for everyone else.  Things escalate quickly as Veronica struggles to keep a grip and learns that being popular and being happy don’t always go hand in hand.

Alex’s Thoughts:  This was always a favorite of mine when I was a teenager.  I didn’t always get some of the jokes, but still found it to very enjoyable; and it would always be one of my standbys when I couldn’t decide on anything else.  Watching it now still brings back good memories of sharing this movie with my friends.  I guess I didn’t realize at the time just how over the top Christian Slater’s performance was, but I still like it.  Daniel Waters, the guy who wrote this movie (along with Hudson Hawk & Batman Returns), attended the same high school that I did.  Go RILEY Wildcats!  He spoke in one of My English classes one year and said that this story was actually based on his sister’s experience in high school, not with all of the actual murder, but with the cliques, student hierarchy and thoughts of how those would change if those top-tier popular students died.  This movie can be a bit preachy at times, but it still is really enjoyable.  Alex Rates This Movie 8/10

Tim’s Thoughts: I’m going to let you in on a dirty secret, until now I have never seen this all the way through. Even though it is soooo 90’s it’s still pretty good. This probably couldn’t get made today with all the high school violence and societies inability to laugh at itself, but I digress. So yes, this is really good, and Christian Slater should be in more movies, yeah, I said it, deal with it.  Tim Rates This Movie 8/10

“Seven schools in seven states and the only thing different is my locker combination.

View the IMDB entry for this movie here or add it to your Netflix queue

