Oldboy

Release Date: 11/21/2003 (South Korea) – Rated R

Plot Summary: Dae-Su is just a pretty average guy; he is a bit of a womanizer and sort of a lush, but otherwise no different from most men.  One night, after being released by the police for public intoxication, he is snatched off of the street.  He awakens to find himself confined to a room, where he remains for the next fifteen years.  After having no human interaction or explanation of why he is there, he is just set free one day.  He wakes up on a rooftop directly above where he was taken all those years ago.  He is given a phone and a rather fat wallet and it told he has 5 days to find out who did this to him and why.  He has been lead to believe that it was something he said in his past that has brought all of this misery upon on himself.  He meets a young chef named Mi-Do, and the two hit it off rather quickly, and after hearing his story wants to help him find his captures.  As the days go on Dae-Su gets closer and closer to finding the reason for his imprisonment, but he will soon learn that those years spent locked up were only the beginning of his anguish.

Alex’s Thoughts:  What a crazy ass flick!!  Having just finished this movie for the first time about 20 minutes ago, I’m still in a bit of a tailspin.  There was just so much to take in, I’m having issues processing what I just saw.  I really enjoyed almost everything about movie, with a few exceptions.  First of all the dubbing of the voices; I would have preferred sub-titles than the very Americanized voices I heard.  I think you lose a lot of the emotion when you don’t hear the actor’s actual voice, and the perfect English voices with a very Eastern backdrop just didn’t sit well with me.  What was the other thing you ask?  This movie is just disgusting – I don’t do well with lingering shots of mutilation… or people eating live octopuses.

Tim’s Thoughts: The horrible dubbed voices almost ruin this great/insane movie. I kept shaking my head in disbelief, as this movie has no boundaries as to what is acceptable revenge, or torture.  Absolute insanity, that’s all I can say as much more would just spoil all of the amazing/disgusting plot points of this unreal movie.

Final Thoughts: Check this out, but it’s not for the meek. If you can find a subtitled version, it would be better, but either way, watch!

Alex Rates This Movie 8/10

Tim Rates This Movie 8/10

“You really are the very monster I created, aren’t you? But you won’t find out the “why” of this if you kill me. Fifteen years of being curious would go to waste.”

View the IMDB entry for this movie here or add it to your Netflix queue.

