Breakin’ 2: Electric Boogaloo

Release Date: 12/21/1984 – Rated PG

Starring: Ice-T (New Jack City)

Plot Summary:  Apparently there was high demand for break dancing movies in the mid 80’s; so just seven months after the release of Breakin’ comes this sequel starring dancing thespians with names like Shabba-Doo, Boogaloo Shrimp & Sugarfoot.  Evil and greedy corporate developers want to tear down the local community center to build a shopping mall.  It is up to the dancing community to raise the funds to save the place and give the kids somewhere to pop and lock.  There really isn’t any way to describe the bat-shit crazy happenings of this movie, it just has to be seen to believed.  What other movie has break dancing meter maids and mailmen, nunchucks and dancing gang wars that make the one in Michael Jackson’s Beat It video look 100% heterosexual?

Alex a.k.a The Atomic Slurpee’s Thoughts:  Speechless.  Having not seen the first Breakin‘, I have nothing to compare this to as for a break dancing movies; but I think it’s safe to say that if I saw the first one, I would not be excited to see this one.  The acting is awful, but these people weren’t hired for their acting chops, they were hired to dance, and dance they do… for the entire movie.  It looks like everyone involved had a good time making the film, but I did not have a good time watching it.  It’s just too far removed from when this stuff was cool.  The outfits are just over-the-top eighties, and make me glad I was not responsible for picking out my own clothes back then.  It might be fun to watch for a nostalgia night, but to get any real entertainment out of this other than making fun of it would be difficult. 

Tim a.k.a. Shrimpy McJangles’ Thoughts: I hate that I kind of enjoyed watching this, it’s just too bizarre to believe without seeing. The music gets redundant, but the insanity of this movie is so constant throughout that I had a hard time not watching, just to see what kind of crazy shit they were going to pull next. There’s a few neat scenes where dancing defies the laws of gravity, as these kids defy about every other law and city ordinance. Anyways I kinda liked watching this, but don’t know that I could sit through it all again unless a lot of alcohol was involved, and then it might be bad as I am sure without a doubt that I would then start trying the dance moves.

Final Thoughts:  Spandex, neon, a lack of female support garments, camp and grooves that would have Helen Keller doing the worm… Breakin’ 2 has everything you’d need for a good acid trip.  This movie is just crazy, that is pretty much all we can say about it.  It might be worth a watch just to see how ridiculous it is, but keep the remote in-hand as you will need that fast forward button.

Alex Rates This Movie 3/10

Tim Rates This Movie 5/10

“I know your kind of riff-raff.  Always spending your money on drugs, fancy clothes and cars.”

View the IMDB entry for this movie here or add it to your Netflix queue

