Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II: The Secret of the Ooze

Release Date: 3/22/1991 – Rated PG

Starring: Rob Van Winkle (Cool As Ice)

Plot Summary:  A few days have passed after the events of the last film; where the Foot Clan was defeated and their leader The Shredder killed after a fall into a garbage truck.  But wait… The Shredder lives!  And he and his freshly mangled face can’t wait to get their revenge on those turtles from his new hideout at the local dump (a technodrome this is not!).   The turtles and Splinter are now living with April in her new apartment, when they befriend their pizza delivery boy, who is also an aspiring martial artist, and whom they saved recently when he tried to stop a robbery.  Shredder has someone follow April O’Neil and he learns of huge mutated plants at a site where the ooze that created the turtles was illegally dumped.  The Foot break in and defeat the turtles before they can stop The Shredder from stealing a canister of the ooze and the scientist responsible for making it.

Impatient as ever, Raphael goes and gets himself beat up again after sneaking in to the Foot’s hideout, and the rest of the team goes to save him.  The turtles get a nice surprise when they get there in the formed of a huge mutated wolf and snapping turtle who, while still babies and practically retarded, are still formidable foes.  They outsmart the Foot and escape into the sewers to regroup.  They all eventually meet up again and battle in a night club where musical genius Vanilla Ice raps about turtles and dances as all hell breaks loose around him and The Shredder is blasted through a window via the power of the Keytar into the river.  As the turtles go out to finish him off they learn that he had drunk some of the ooze and has become… SUPER SHREDDER!  As the bigger, meaner and for some reason completely new costumed Shredder destroys the dock under which they all stand, the turtles jump into the river as the structure collapses and kills The Shredder for good… we hope.

Alex’s Thoughts:  While I’m sure I’m not the only 32-year-old man to have watched this movie, I can safely say I’m not the target audience.  If you never saw it when you were a kid, it would be pretty hard to watch it for the first time twenty years after it’s release and appreciate it.  When I saw it the first time when I was 12 I remember it being great, and I wish I still felt that way, but sadly time and a small (very small) level of maturity prevents me from liking this as much as I did as a youth.  The first TMNT movie was so dark and gritty I can still watch it and love it, but these two films are completely different, and I think whatever fond memories you have of this shouldn’t be re-lived by another viewing.

Tim’s Thoughts: Hotter April: Plus, No Casey Jones: major Negative, Vanilla Ice: Plus,….I could go on and on, and the end result will be the same: far inferior to the original movie, and it only gets worse. So unless I am drinking a lot of beer(this means you Matt) I really have no interest in watching this. It’s ok for the kiddies, but it’s too goofy and I think was just made to sell toys. I know that it worked, because as a kid I had a shitload of TMNT toys, seriously, I loved them, and as a kid I loved this movie, be even at the age of 13 I knew that the first movie was way better. Oh yeah, we got to have beers with “Super Shredder”, if you look at the Men On Film pictures you will see me and Jan with him.

Final Thoughts:  While this sequel has much better costumes, and is more kid friendly and in line with the cartoon and toy series, it never quite captures the things that made the first film so good.  This might be a film your boys would like, as long as you are alright with the constant ass-kicking throughout the entire film.  It’s still better than Turtles in Time though.

Alex Rates This Movie 6/10

Tim Rates This Movie 6/10

“You know, if I had a face like yours, I’d try to make up for it with some sort of personality!”

View the IMDB entry for this movie here or add it to your Netflix queue.

