The Poughkeepsie Tapes

Release Date: This movie has not been officially released as of this post– Rated R

Plot Summary:  This fictional documentary is based on thousands of hours of video tape footage found in a serial killer’s abandon house in Poughkeepsie, NY.  It is hard to layout too much of the plot without giving some interesting story arcs away. Needless to say this guy is one sick puppy and you get to see how he progresses from just snatching a little girl for his first murder to eventually having up to eight different serial killing personas, making it impossible for the police to be looking for just one person.

Alex’s Thoughts:  After watching this movie for the first time I did not like it at all; I thought it was strange and  really graphic just to push the limits for their sake.  It left me wanting to take a shower afterwards, I felt that disgusted.  But as I sit here writing this, I realize that is exactly how the filmmakers wanted me to feel.  They are showing just how sick, twisted, methodical and smart some serial killers are, and they want you to be scared.  They want you to question if your quite neighbor down the block could be ‘that guy’.  They want you to know that the world we live in can be a sick and cruel place.  They want you to think… and this movie will make you do just that.  The more I think about it, the more I recommend it.

Tim’s Thoughts: Profoundly disturbing. It’s the only way I can think to describe this movie. It’s good because it is effective, but it’s not pleasant, some of the terror that this film inflicts is due to the fact that it feels like it could be real. When I got done watching this, I checked all the locks on my doors, and then I got online to make sure that this movie wasn’t based on fact. There are scenes that even a day later still make me shudder, I don’t know why it affected me the way it did, but I am still reeling. This kind of movie is a million times more upsetting than Human Centipede, and isn’t “fun” scary like Paranormal Activity. This is the kind of movie you watch on a dare, and if you can find a copy, and you like realistic horror, then I dare you to watch it.

Final Thoughts: If you want to watch this make sure you haven’t eaten recently (you may vomit) and no impressionable spouses or children are around (because they will not look at you the same way again, or forgive you). You may also want to make sure your plumbing is working, because you will need to take a shower after watching this movie.  It’s disturbing, but really well done and a great success in that way.  It isn’t available to rent or stream right now, so ask us nicely and we might be able to loan you our ‘exclusive’ copy.

Alex rates This Movie 9/10

Tim Rates This Movie 9/10

“I am the master.  You are the slave.”

View the IMDB entry for this movie here

