Pitch Black

Release Date: 2/18/2000 – Rated R

Starring: Vin Diesel (The Pacifier)

Plot Summary:  While traveling through space a transport ship is knocked off course and crashes on a strange planet. The survivors, which include the ship’s pilot, some religious pilgrims, a detained escaped convict, the bounty hunter who captured him as well as a few other rag tags, are able to find an old geology outpost.  Seeing as there is no one around, they attempt to fix up a ship that was left there by the missing scientists from parts of their wrecked ship.  While looking around they discover some alien creatures that keep in the dark and have a taste for human flesh.  As long as the group stays in the light they have nothing to fear.  This shouldn’t be a problem since this planet has three suns, so there is plenty of sunlight, everything will be alright unless there is some sort of an eclipse.  Oh Shit, here comes an eclipse!  The survivors must make it back to the outpost with the parts to fix the ship while in complete darkness and with monsters hot on their tail.  Will anyone survive?  Spoiler Alert: Vin Diesel survives, because he is in the sequel. 

Alex’s Thoughts:  While I am not a huge Vin Diesel fan, I really like the sequel to this movie (The Chronicles or Riddick) a lot more than this.  While there was plenty of action to keep you focused, you never really felt connected to the characters and were just waiting, and in some cases hoping, for them to die.  The use of different color and lighting throughout was pretty neat though, where you hardly ever get to see anything in a natural light; everything is either dark or set to a different sun color, which was different.  It’s just a kind of average movie, and I didn’t hate it, but I certainly can do without seeing it again. 

Tim’s Thoughts: I have to disagree a bit with Alex, I really like this movie. Science fiction done well can be one of my favorite types of movie, and this is some good science fiction. Unlike the sequel this movie requires no need to buy into a pantheon of a strange future in space, this is basic space ship crashes the crew is screwed sci-fi. The visuals are a bit dated but in 2000 were pretty cutting edge, and I think the story is nice and original. Yes you are waiting for some of the characters to die, but Riddick is so damn cool I found that even watching this again that I didn’t care. This is the best movie I have seen with Vin Diesel as the lead, and it’s because he isn’t forced to do too much, and I thought the rest of the cast was really strong. There is not much chemistry, but I think that it makes sense, the passengers on this ship don’t know each other, and are just thrown into this horrible situation. Overall I am just a sucker for good sci-fi, and for me this movie worked. The effects, and camera filters really make you feel like you are on an alien planet, and the action will keep you from getting bored. I say check it out, and if you get hooked on Riddick, check out the sequel.

Final Thoughts:  We didn’t see eye-to-eye on this one, but still can agree that there are some very interesting visuals and most sci-fi fans should find something they like about it.

 Alex Rates This Movie 6/10

Tim Rates This Movie 8/10

“I truly don’t know what’s gonna happen when the lights go out Carolyn but I do know, once the dying starts, this little psycho fuck family of ours is gonna rip itself apart.”

 View the IMDB entry for this movie here or add it to your Netflix queue

