Black Christmas (a.k.a. Silent Night, Evil Night)

Release Date: 12/20/1974 – Rated R

Starring: Margot Kidder (Superman)

Plot Summary:  It’s Christmas break and most of the girls from the sorority have gone home for the holidays. Those that stay start receiving creepy phone calls from a man they call “The Moaner”. They get more explicit and threatening, and one by one the girls keep disappearing. There are suspects a plenty as these dopey girls and townsfolk bumble their way through the film. It all climaxes with a minimal payoff, and a sort of interesting ending, assuming you stay awake that long.

Alex’s Thoughts:  Ugh!  If patience really is a virtue, you need to be the most virtuous person alive to enjoy this movie.  I realize that suspense needs to be built up in some cases but come on, you have a 90 minutes movie, you need to have something happen, you need to reward the viewers for the time they have invented – the payoff just wasn’t there for me.  I know there are a lot of horror movie fans out there who really like this movie but it just moved way too slow for me.  I am somewhat ashamed to admit it, but I really enjoyed the 2006 remake much more than the original, where the killer had a good back story and the gore factor is just right for a horror movie.

Tim’s Thoughts:Yeah, I know this is an important “Cult Movie” but this wasn’t good. The director did go on to do a Christmas Story, so that’s nice. The main character’s boyfriend was played by Captain Dave, from 2001: A Space Odyssey, and John Saxon is usually fun to watch, but man I just couldn’t figure this movie out. It’s silly, and shockingly crude a few times (listen to what the Moaner is saying on the phone) but the suspense was lacking. Too many drawn out scenes with very little payoff, I will say the ending (as in the last 2 minutes, even though it should have just been 1 minute) was kind of interesting. I didn’t see the remake, so I don’t have a comparison, but man this one is a snoozer.

Final Thoughts: This was the first ‘the call is coming from inside the house’ movie, but has been done much better since, and that being the only real highlight of this flick – we say skip it.  Merry Christmas.

Alex Rates This Movie 2/10

Tim Rates This Movie 2/10

”Are you there Agnus? It’s me, Billy.”

View the IMDB entry for this movie here or add it to your Netflix queue

