Strange Brew

Release Date: 8/26/1983 – Rated PG

Starring: Rick Moranis (Ghostbusters), Dave Thomas (Rat Race)

Plot Summary:  Always trying to get their Canadian mitts on some free beers, brothers Bob and Doug McKenzie, head to the Elsinore brewery to tell them about the mouse they found in their bottle; in hopes of getting some complementary brew.  While there, they accidentally meet the new owner, Pam, who has recently inherited the brewery from her dead father.  They also somehow end up with jobs at the brewery (beauty, eh?), as bottle checkers.  Meanwhile the evil Brewmeister Smith is testing a mind-control drug that he is putting in the beer on the residents of the adjacent loony bin; using special musical tones he can make them do anything, from playing hockey to fighting.  

While wondering the brewery with Pam, the McKenzies find an old video game that proved Pam’s uncle killed her father.  Going to confront Uncle Claude gets the boys drugged, placed in a van with no breaks and framed for Pam’s kidnapping.  Bog and Doug end up being committed to the loony bid, of which the Brewmeister is also the head of… convenient.  Aid in the form of a former hockey player and brewery worker named Rosie, they are all able escape with Pam in tow.  With the help of Pam’s father’s ghost and a dog named Hosehead, they are able to keep the locals from drinking the tainted beer.

Alex’s Thoughts:  Strange Brew has always been one of my favorites.  There are just so many funny parts to this great movie it’s hard to name which ones I like the most.  I still enjoy listening to their comedy album and watching them on re-runs of SCTV.  Bob and Doug are such great characters, I wish there had been another movie that featured them; knowing a few people who are from the UP of Michigan I can relate to their hysterical Canadian accents.  I also  really enjoy Rick Moranis in this, as well as almost everything he’s done (excluding the Honey I Shrunk /Blew UP the _____ sequels).

Tim’s Thoughts: I always have and always will LOVE this movie. I love the fake movie at the begining, and I really love the real movie that is the rest of the film. I still catch new jokes all the time, and I probably always will. I wish these guys could get together and do another Bob and Doug movie, I don’t know how they could, but I can always hope right? Just get some beer, some doughnuts, and remember, always take a jar of moths to a movie in case it’s a stinker!

Final Thoughts:  For a movie that is loosely based on Hamlet it’s awesome.  We both love it and highly recommend it.

Alex Rates This Movie 9/10

Tim Rates This Movie 9/10

“This movie was shot in 3B – three beers – and it looks good, eh?”

View the IMDB entry for this movie here

