Young Sherlock Holmes

Release Date: 12/4/1985 – Rated PG-13

Plot Summary: A mysterious robed figure is running around London shooting people with darts that cause hallucinations, who else but Sherlock Holmes and his trusty Dr. Watson could solve such nefarious goings ons? The mystery brings the two young students together as they race about London to solve their first case together. Be warned, not all is what it seems with not only jealous peers  but also an Egyptian cult who will stop at nothing to carry out their evil plans.

Alex’s Thoughts:  This movie just isn’t my cup of tea, or crumpets for that matter.  Admittedly, I’m not a huge fan of the mystery genre, even less so of Sherlock Holmes as a character; but the story just doesn’t work for me.  According to Tim, and people who make DVD covers, this was an ’80’s Favorite’, but I hadn’t heard about it until Tim said he wanted to review it.  I’m kind of glad I hadn’t seen it before, because I would not have offered to watch it again, I just couldn’t get into it.  The set designs and special effects were pretty good for the time, but those were too few and far between.  I’ll watch almost anything once, but I’d be alright without ever seeing this again.  I also think that Watson looks like a girl dressed up like Harry Potter, not that that matters.

Tim’s Thoughts: Spielberg, Levinson, Columbus, Bryan Cox’s son, AND Industrial Light and Magic? How can you go wrong? I disagree with Alex, not strongly, but I do disagree. Watson does look a bit like a fem Harry Potter, but I guess really Radcliff looks like a butch Watson. I remember this movie from my childhood, and I think it’s still pretty decent. Not as good as it could have been, but a nice little movie from the 80’s. My complaint would be that it runs just a tad bit long, but other than that, if you want to watch something with the kids, or have to see EVERY Alan Cox movie then this one will be just fine.

Final Thoughts:    … It’s hard to go wrong with Industrial Light and Magic doing your effects, as well as a small start-up animation company called Pixar… a unique movie that I wouldn’t be surprised if it was remade sometime soon. We just pray the Olsen twins aren’t involved, and that goes double for the Jonas Brothers or Miley.

Alex Rates This Movie 3/10

Tim Rates This Movie 7/10

“The game is afoot!”

View the IMDB entry for this movie here.

