Black Dynamite

Release Date: 2/2/2010 (DVD) – Rated R

Starring: Michael Jai White (The Dark Knight)

Plot Summary: The Man killed his brother, they fill his neighborhood with drugs, and they poison his malt liquor. Now they’ve gone too far, Black Dynamite is one bad mo’fo who isn’t going to take it anymore. He’s going to leave no ho unslapped, and no pimp unturned as he searches for not only justice, but sweet revenge. A Kung Fu master that knows no equal, and a lover like the world has never seen. He’s the baddest brother on the block, and don’t forget his friends, Cream Corn, Sweet Meat & Tasty Freeze. They will kick that ass too. So grab your lady and hold her tight, because she will leave you for Black Dynamite!!

Alex’s Thoughts:  I can’t say enough good things about this movie, everything is perfect; from the jive dialog to the intentionally obvious goofs (boom in shot or different looking stunt man) it is all great.  Like Tim, I had heard about this movie for a long time before I was able to see it, I can’t believe they had trouble finding a company to release it.  There isn’t one thing wrong with this movie or anything I would change about it, it’s perfect.

Tim’s Thoughts: I had heard way in advance that this movie was being made, and then I was tortured because it was only doing the Indy film festival circuit, but finally I was rewarded for my patience with one the funniest movies I have ever seen. I can’t even talk about it without cracking up, the fact that the filmmakers went out and found the same type of film used in the 70’s to give it the right look, down the strangely specific soundtrack, this movie is solid gold baby. I had a release party for it, and have since passed it around to any friend who will agree to watch it. This is one of my top 5 comedies of all time, and easily in my top ten favorite movies. The best intentionally racist movie since Blazing Saddles.

Final Thoughts: A labor of love for the creators, they took great pains to make this a complete spoof/tribute to the blaxploitation films of the 70’s, and they succeed. Good for several viewings, pay attention to not only the soundtrack, but also enjoy all of the hilarious names of the other pimps.  So you yourself a solid, you jive sucka, and watch Black Dynamite, you dig?

Alex Rates This Move 10/10

Tim Rates This Movie 10/10

“You can hit the sheets, or hit the streets.”

View the IMDB entry for this movie here

