Behind the Mask: The Rise of Leslie Vernon

Release Date: 9/14/2007 – Rated R

Starring: Nathan Baesel, Angela Goethals (Home Alone)

Plot Summary: In a world where the likes of Jason Vorhees, Freddy Kruger & Michael Meyers are real life serial killers, a group of film school students are following someone who claims to be the next big thing.  The film group, two cameramen and their director/the interviewer Tayor, follow Leslie as he stalks his prey, a young virgin named Kelly.  He sets up an elaborate plan full of horror movie clichés to kill Kelly and her friends at an old farm, telling the crew how each person will be killed.  The film crew decides that they can’t let eight teenage kids be murdered and plan to go rescue them.   It’s here that the film goes from a grainy hand-held camera look to that of a standard hollywood movie. After learning that the virgin is nothing of the sort, they realize they were meant to be part of the plan the entire time and must try to escape with their lives.

Alex’s Thoughts:  At first I didn’t know what to expect when Tim told me to watch a movie that was refered to him by Netflix, as Netflix told me once I should like Bring it On Again.  Although Tim said he really enjoyed it, even after I read the description of the movie it sounded really low-budget and it seemed like it was going to be a waste of time.  I can only say that it was anything but, and I want to thank Tim for taking a chance on watching it the first time.  It was enjoyable enough when I thought it was just a documentary, but when it switched to an actual horror movie, I couldn’t take my eyes off it.  A very welcome twist and a great watch.

Tim’s Thoughts: Like Alex I was really not expecting anything when I put this in my DVD player. As a matter of fact, I was prepared to fast forward to the interesting parts and send it back without a serious look, but as soon as the movie started I was hooked. The premise was really original, and the movie was too much fun for a horror buff such as myself to not fall for, hook, line, and sinker. I was nervous recommending it, but I was too excited about this little gem I had discovered, and to be perfectly honest I might have been a little crushed if Alex didn’t like it after I was jumping up and down telling him how good it was. So I hope that we can turn you guys onto a great movie that not only had you not seen, but had never even heard of. I hope y’all check this one out, and let us know if you loved it as much as we did.

Final Thoughts:    … Don’t forget to watch till the end of the credits for a little treat!

Alex Rates This Movie 8/10

Tim Rates This Movie 9/10

“It is going to get wet in here tonight. Lace your boots up kiddies.”

View the IMDB entry for this movie here

