Top Secret!

Release Date: 6/8/1984 – Rated PG

Starring: Val Kilmer (Top Gun), Omar Sharif (Doctor Zhivago)

Plot Summary: Nick Rivers is a rock ‘n roll singer who is sent to East Germany to perform in a concert that is actually a distraction so the evil Germans can use their secret weapon the “Polarus Mine”. Rivers not just being American, but also a rock star gets himself thrown into prison helping a mysterious French beauty. While in jail he meets Dr. Flammond, who is being held captive to develop the German secret weapon. During a concert Rivers escapes thanks to the help of the mystery French woman. To lay low they hook up with the French Resistance, (yes, in East Germany) and hatch a plot to spring the scientist who just so happens to be the father of our pretty french lady. In doing so we meet some interesting agents of the rebellion, such as Deja Vu, and Chocolate Mousse (yes he’s black).  Also a few hilarious scenes with cows, but any more info would be telling….. be sure to watch the credits as there are some pretty funny names that roll across the screen.

Tim’s Thoughts: I didn’t remember this movie being that funny, but when I watched it again, I just kept laughing out loud over and over. It’s got it all really, great sight gags, clever jokes, stuff is always happening in the background. It’s pretty clever, and done in a way that spoofs just are lacking these days. Not as funny as Airplane, but I think it’s pretty close, I am going to start making my friends watch this one, because it’s way better than any parody movies out these days (this isn’t counting Black Dynamite and Machete). Like I said in the summary watch credits, there are some great jokes that probably get missed all the time. Also there is a scene when they go to a swedish bookstore that I had to rewind and see again, not just because it was funny, but because is has some pretty impressive camera work/performances by the cast.

Alex’s thoughts: I wish I could agree more with Tim on this, but while I thought some parts were funny, they just weren’t laugh-out-loud funny to me.  I enjoyed Airplane and The Naked Gun a lot more than this movie.  I guess 80’s spoof humor just isn’t that funny to me at this point in my life.  It’s not bad, still better than Meet the Spartans any day of the week.

Final Thoughts: This movies sets out to spoof Elvis and WWII spy movies and  it does a very good job of it. Definitely worth checking out, if not adding it to your shelf right next to Airplane and Kentucky Fried Movie. Can somebody please get Jim Abrahams and the Zucker brothers to make movies again? Wait, I take that back, no more “Superhero Movie”, or Scary Movie 35……ugh, how do they lose their magic touch?

Tim rates this movie: 8/10

Alex rates this movie: 5/10

“If they find out you’ve seen this, your life will be worth less than a truckload of dead rats in a tampon factory.”

View the IMDB entry for this movie here

