Paranormal Activity

Release Date: 9/25/2009 –  Rated R

Starring: Micha Sloat, Katie Featherston

Plot Summary:  After several odd events, a young couple begins documenting any activity that occurs in their room while the sleep.  The occurences don’t stand out as anything special at first, a door moving a little bit and some strange noises.  After Katie tells Micha that this has been happening to her over the corse of her entire life, they consult a paranormal investigator who doesn’t like the feel of the place and leaves right away, but not before telling them not to antagonize the spirit.   Micha says eff that and gets out the Ouija board the first chance he gets.  strangely enough, things start to get much worse from there. 

Things escalate rather quickly into violence, as Katie begins to get taken over by the spirit.  Again we don’t like to reveal any spoilers that we don’t have to, so we’re going to stop right here. 

Alex’s Thoughts:  I didn’t initially buy into the hype of the commercials about this movie being scary.  That is until I watched it alone by myself the first time.  It isn’t that its scary up front, it’s just the tension that arrises knowing something is going to happen, but you have no idea what it is.  Watching the people sleeping, being at their most vulnerable, and knowing something bad is about to happen is hard to watch.  The filmmakers are good about no delivering a scare every night that the camera is rolling, as sometimes nothing happens at all, but you don’t know that until the night is over.  I liked this movie a lot, not just for the scares, but for the simplistic way they generated tension and kept you on the edge of your seat till the end credits.  It’s amazing what $11,000 (this films budget) can get you!

Tim’s Thoughts: Alex is right, this movie is good for what it doesn’t do. It’s classic suspense film, and folks seeking gore will be sorely disappointed.  I saw this movie with my Dad and Sister in the theater, and people were literally jumping out of their seats and screaming. It was an awesome experience, and this movie creeps me out even in the middle of the day. See it for yourself and just watch to see if you can figure out how they pull off the effects that they do, it’s pretty amazing. I am worried that like Blair Witch, the sequel is gonna stink so bad that no one will do anything like this for 10 more years, but this is a movie that will hold up. Like the exorcist this one for me personally is one I save for when I am in the mood to watch a movie that will unsettle me for days. Enjoy!

Final Thoughts:    ….If you watch this on DVD there is an alternate ending that is just as good as the theatrical ending.  Also, please do not confuse this movie with Paranormal Entity, currently streaming on Netflix, that is a cheap knock-off and is God awful.

Alex Rates This Movie 9/10

Tim Rates This Movie 10!/10

“I promised you I wasn’t going to buy a Ouija board. I didn’t buy a Ouija board. I borrowed a Ouija board.”

View the IMDB entry for this movie here

