Dr. Horrible’s Sing-A-Long Blog

7/15/2008 – Not Rated

Starring: Neil Patrick Harris (How I Met Your Mother), Nathan Fillion (Firefly), Felicia Day (The Guild)

Plot Summery: Dr. Horrible is a web movie (wevie?) musical (wevical?) centering around a mediocre mad scientist’s (Harris) quest to join the Evil League of Evil; the movie is broken up into three acts.  All the good doctor needs to do to be invited into the League is to perform an uber evil act to impress the League’s leader, Bad Horse.  The only things standing in his way are bumbling super hero Captain Hammer (Fillion), and trying to ask out  his laundromat crush, Penny (Day).  Not only does Dr. Horrible’s plan fail, but Hammer ends up saving Penny’s life and earning a date in the process.

After finally getting up the nerve to talk to Penny at the laundromat, Dr. Horrible is shocked to see Captain Hammer making an appearance there as well.  Hammer knows that Penny’s friend ‘Billy’ is really Dr. Horrible and know how he feels about her.  The Captain let the Doctor know that he plans on showing Penny ‘the hammer’, and that seals his fate: Dr. Horrible will get into The Evil League by killing Captain Hammer.

We won’t tell you what happens in the final act, suffice to say that due to a series of unfortunate events Horrible does make it into the Evil League of Evil, though things don’t turn out well for anyone of our main characters.

Alex’s Thoughts:  I patiently awaited all of the web release dates for this during the writer’s strike of 2008 after seeing the trailer the first time.    I love anything and everything Joss Whedon does, from Buffy the Vampire Slayer to Dollhouse, and this is no exception.  With songs that will stick with you for life like ‘My Freeze Ray’, to the costumes that I still see fanboys wearing at every comic convention, everything about this is so much fun.

Tim’s Thought: If it weren’t obvious how much fun the entire cast (including Whedon) is having I would have been a bit disappointed. Only because the Freeze Ray song is my favorite, and all the rest are just pretty good,  but NPH is awesome and has such a great voice that even the songs that aren’t AS catchy really shine. I love the roommate that only moistens things, he may be one of the most underrated things in this whole web series. While I have to admit that I have never seen an episode of Dollhouse or Buffy, I do love Firefly with the fanatacism of a Trekkie,  and seeing Nathon Fillion revel in the role of Captain Hammer, I have nothing bad to say. As a die hard Flight of  the Conchords fan I am a sucker for good musical shows and this qualifies, if only on the strength of NPH’s singing. I loved this the first time I saw it, and upon repeated viewings I love it still. “The hammer is my penis” Nuff said

Final Thoughts:  Do yourself a favor and watch this movie, it’s only like 45 minutes of your time and you’ll love it, like we love NPH, but not in a gay way, eventhough he’s gay, but there’s nothing wrong with that…  just saying if we were gay we would totally hit that.

Alex Rates This Movie: 9/10

Tim Rates This Movie : 9/10

“It’s curtains for you, Dr. Horrible. Lacy, gently wafting curtains.”

View the IMDB entry for this movie here.

